Please consider downloading the latest version of Internet Explorer
to experience this site as intended.
Meloria • Ever Better
Search Tools Main Menu

Environmental Health & Safety

Biosafety Levels and Animal Biosafety Levels 1, 2, 2+

Biosafety Levels (BSL) are a set of work practices, equipment and facility design appropriate for working with infectious agents, and are assigned by the Institutional Biosafety Committee based on agent risk (1 being the least hazardous, 4 being the most hazardous; UR does not perform BSL4 work).

This procedure establishes the biosafety requirements for laboratories working at:

  • Biosafety Level 1 (BSL1) and Animal Biosafety Level 1 (ABSL1)
  • Biosafety Level 2 (BSL2) and Animal Biosafety Level 2 (ABSL2)
  • Biosafety Level 2+ (BSL2+) and Animal Biosafety Level 2+ (ABSL2+)


  • Animals means small animals (including invertebrates) and nonhuman primates.
  • This procedure does not include large animals (e.g. livestock) covered by the NIH Guidelines for Research Involving Recombinant or Synthetic Nucleic Acid Molecules (Appendix Q) or those regulated by the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) for agricultural pathogens.

Full document in printable form is available with Adobe Acrobat Reader:
PDF Version of Biosafety Level Requirements

Contact EH&S at (585) 275-3241 or e-mail EH&S Questions.

This page last updated 1/15/2021. Disclaimer.